The Teaching Excellence Award recognizes an individual’s or team’s success in the development and delivery of a specific educational experience that yields exceptional student learning. Any IDEC member in good standing can make a nomination for the IDEC Teaching Excellence Award. Individuals may not self-nominate.


  • IDEC member in good standing
  • IDEC member for at least two years
  • The educational experience must be associated with an established interior design program within higher education.
  • If a team is being nominated, then one team member must meet the above qualifications and have made significant contributions to the development and delivery of the educational experience.


  • Articulation of the purpose, methods, and outcomes of the experience
  • Relevant experience to interior design
  • Effective method/technique that yields exceptional student learning outcome(s)
  • Specific teaching excellence documented by development and repetition of a teaching effort such as a project, assignment, exercise, field trip, evaluations etc.

Submission Requirements

Each nomination shall contain the following information:

  • Nomination Letter (from Nominator): The nominator must submit a nomination letter (not to exceed 750 words) that addresses the criteria listed above.
  • Supporting Documentation: The nominee may provide up to 10 pages of supporting documentation that could include syllabi, handouts, examples of student work, student evaluations, etc.
  • Support References: Submit the names of three references. References may be asked to complete an online form of support that asks for rankings directly related to the criteria. Additionally they will be able to submit comments (not to exceed 500 words) to  help provide direct information regarding the stated criteria. At least one of the letters should be from a student who participated in the educational experience.

Nominations are due by Friday, October 21, 2022 October 28, 2022. Click here to submit your nomination


The Awards Committee (made up of selected participants and previous awardees knowledgeable in the area of submission) will review all submissions and present their final award nominees to the IDEC Board of Directors for approval and ratification. Award winners will be publicly celebrated at the annual conference and will be announced to the full international IDEC community.

Service Commitment to Continued Excellence

Please note Awardee(s) will be asked to maintain a one year service commitment in honor of being selected as an Award recipient. During the year following the Award acceptance, Awardees will be asked to serve as a Reviewer for the Awards Committee and thus must abstain from submitting for the Community Service, Partner in Education, Teaching Excellence, Scholarship Excellence, Book, or Media Awards during that year. This service ensures sustained knowledge and excellence in the review process. Willingness to participate will be requested prior to the subsequent year’s awards review period.

Past Recipients

  • 2022 – Rana Abudayyeh, University of Tennessee, Knoxville
  • 2021 – Lindsey Ellsworth-Bahe, University of Nebraska – ‎Lincoln
  • 2020 – Nerea Feliz, University of Texas at Austin
  • 2019 – Milagros Zingoni, Arizona State University
  • 2018 – Lindsey Fay and The University of Kentucky School of Interiors, University of Kentucky School of Interiors
  • 2017 – Patrick Lee Lucas, Lindsey Fay, Christina Birkentall, Rebekah Radtke, University of Kentucky School of Interiors
  • 2016 – Miranda S. Anderson & Jay Pengilly, University of Idaho
  • 2015 – Jain Kwon, Ph.D., The University of Georgia
  • 2014 – Sandra Reicis, Villa Maria College
  • 2013 – Candy Carmel-Gilfilen, University of Florida
  • 2012 – Judy Theodorson, Washington State University
  • 2011 – Abimbola Asojo, University of Oklahoma