Scholarship Excellence Award


The Excellence in Scholarship Award recognizes an individual’s or team’s distinguished achievement in the development of a specific scholarly contribution (e.g., project, publication, exhibition etc.) related to the interior environment and its contribution to the discipline of interior design. Any IDEC member in good standing can make a nomination for this award. Individuals may not self-nominate.

Nominations are due December 1, 2023.


  • IDEC member in good standing in any category of membership
  • IDEC member for at least two years
  • If a collaborative achievement is being nominated, one member of the collaboration must meet the above qualifications and have made significant contributions to the product of the scholarship.

Submission Requirements

Each nomination shall contain the following information:

Nomination Letter: The nominator must submit a nomination letter (not to exceed 750 words) that articulates the impact and relevance of the scholarly contribution.

Narrative (from Nominee):  The nominee must submit a narrative (not to exceed 750 words) that clearly articulates the purpose, methods, and outcomes of the scholarship and relevance to interior design.

Letter of reference: Submit one letter of reference. Nominators are not eligible to serve as the reference.

Supporting Documentation: The nominee may provide up to 10 pages of supporting documentation that may include a description of the scholarship/research, its outcomes, contributions to the field, testimonials, visual images, etc.

Nominee CV(s)

All submission documents should be uploaded as a single PDF file.


A jury of selected participants knowledgeable in the area of submission and previous awardees will review all nominations and evaluate based on a common rubric. Award winners will be publicly celebrated at the annual conference and will be announced to the full international IDEC community.

Service Commitment to Continued Excellence

Please note awardees will be asked to maintain a service commitment to this award for two years following the award acceptance. This service ensures sustained knowledge and excellence in the review process. Willingness to participate will be requested prior to the subsequent year’s awards review.

Past Recipients

2023 – Kristi Gaines, Texas Tech University

2022 – Lindsey Fay, University of Kentucky

2021 – Laura Cole, University of Missouri – ‎Columbia

2020 – Michelle Pearson, Texas Tech University, for her work on behalf of The Early Childhood Development Center in Malawi.

2016 – Pati Debajyoti – Identifying and Examining Micro Physical Environment Factors Contributing to Patient Falls

"*" indicates required fields

The submission deadline is December 1, 2023.

Accepted file types: pdf, Max. file size: 256 MB.
This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Thank you to IDEC Sponsors and Partners