Book Award


Award(s) are given for recognition of the content of an outstanding book that exhibits excellence in addressing issues of the discipline of interior design including practice, research, theory, and education. Books include such products as textbooks, trade books (i.e., written for designers or public), popular press books (written for public audience), etc. Any IDEC member in good standing can nominate an individual or entity for the IDEC Book Award.

Nominations are due December 1, 2023.


  • Nominator must be IDEC member in good standing in any category of membership
  • Author(s) do not need to be IDEC members
  • Author(s) may be from anywhere in the world
  • Publisher-nominated, self-nominated, or other nominated
  • Published within the last five years
  • Candidates can self-nominate (if IDEC member)

Submission Requirements

Each nomination shall contain the following information:

Nomination Letter (from Nominator): The nominator must submit a nomination letter (not to exceed 500 words) that describes the significance and impact of the book

Letter of reference: Submit one letter of reference. Nominators are not eligible to serve as the reference.

Documentation:Submit the URL and one electronic copy of the book with the nomination. If no URL exists (e.g., digital presentation), submit one electronic copy of the entire book with the nomination.

Nominee CV(s)

All submission documents should be uploaded as a single PDF file.


A jury of selected participants knowledgeable in the area of submission and previous awardees will review all nominations and evaluate based on a common rubric. Award winners will be publicly celebrated at the annual conference and will be announced to the full international IDEC community.

Service Commitment to Continued Excellence

Please note awardees will be asked to maintain a service commitment to this award for two years following the award acceptance. This service ensures sustained knowledge and excellence in the review process. Willingness to participate will be requested prior to the subsequent year’s awards review.

Past Recipients

2023 – Lisa Waxman, Designing Coffee Shops and Cafés for Community​

2022 – Jill Pable, Yelena McLane, and Lauren Trujillo, Homelessness and the Built Environment: Designing for Unhoused Persons (2021)

2021 – Olivier Vallerand, Arizona State University, Unplanned Visitors: Queering ‎the Ethics and Aesthetics of ‎Domestic Space

2020 – Tamie Glass, Prompt: Socially Engaging Objects and Environments

2019 – Deborah Schneiderman and Amy Campos, Interiors Beyond Architecture

2018 – Dr. Dak Kopec, Health and Well-being for Interior Architecture

2017 – Kristi Gaines, Angela Bourne, Michelle Pearson, Mesha Kleibrink, Designing for Autism Spectrum Disorder

2016 – Philomena Bluyssen, Delft University of Technology, The Healthy Indoor Environment: How to Assess Occupants’ Wellbeing in Buildings

2015 – Deborah Schneiderman, Pratt Institute, Inside Prefab: The Ready-Made Interior

2014 – Lois Weinthal, Ryerson University, Toward a New Interior: An Anthology of Interior Design Theory published by Princeton Architectural Press

"*" indicates required fields

The submission deadline is December 1, 2023.

Accepted file types: pdf, Max. file size: 256 MB.
This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Thank you to IDEC Sponsors and Partners