Award(s) are given for recognition of the content of an outstanding book that exhibits excellence in addressing issues of the discipline of interior design including practice, research, theory, and education. Books include such products as textbooks, trade books (i.e., written for designers or public), popular press books (written for public audience), etc. Any IDEC member in good standing can nominate an individual or entity for the IDEC Book Award.


  • Author(s) do not need to be IDEC members
  • Author(s) may be from anywhere in the world
  • Publisher-nominated, self-nominated, or other nominated
  • Published within the last five years

Submission Requirements

Each nomination shall contain the following information:

  • Nomination Letter (from Nominator): The nominator must submit a nomination letter (not to exceed 500 words).
  • Documentation: Submit the URL and one electronic copy of the book with the nomination. If no URL exists (e.g., digital presentation), submit one electronic copy of the entire book with the nomination.
  • Support References: Submit the names of three references. Please note that only references from the top 3 finalists will be contacted to submit letters of support.
  • All submission documents should be uploaded as a single PDF file.

Nominations are due by Friday, October 15, 2021. Click here to submit your nomination.


The Awards Committee (made up of selected participants and previous awardees knowledgeable in the area of submission) will review all submissions and present their final award nominees to the IDEC Board of Directors for approval and ratification. Award winners will be publicly celebrated at the annual conference and will be announced to the full international IDEC community.

Service Commitment to Continued Excellence

Please note Awardee(s) will be asked to maintain a one year service commitment in honor of being selected as an Award recipient. During the year following the Award acceptance, Awardees will be asked to serve as a Reviewer for the Awards Committee and thus must abstain from submitting for the Community Service, Partner in Education, Teaching Excellence, Scholarship Excellence, Book, or Media Awards during that year. This service ensures sustained knowledge and excellence in the review process. Willingness to participate will be requested prior to the subsequent year’s awards review period.

Past Recipients

  • 2021 – Johannes Knoops, Fashion Institute of Technology, In Search of Aldus Pius ‎Manutius
  • 2020 – Kristi Gaines, Charles Klein, Lori Guerrero, Sahand AbbasiOLE! Inspector Guide
  • 2019 – Stephanie ZollingerThe Jack Lenor Larsen Oral History Project
  • 2018 – Rebekah RadtkeReimagining Living and Learning Spaces on Campus
  • 2017 – Jill PableDesign Resources for Homelessness
  • 2016 – Jessica Senne and Jonathan FahnestockA Conversation with Architect Ralph Fournier