2024 Award Winners

Service Awards

Community Service Award

Tasoulla Hadjiyanni, University of Minnesota

Presidential Service Award

New York School of Interior Design, New York City

Education Awards

Arnold P. Friedman Educator of Distinction Award

Jill Pable

Teaching Excellence Award

Felicia Dean

Scholarship Awards

Scholarship of Excellence Award

Felicia Dean

IDEC Book Award

Jessica Bantom, Design for Identity, How to Design Authentically for a Diverse World

Media Award

Darrell Nickolson

Annual Conference Awards

Scholastic Awards

Best Presentation: Scholarship of Teaching and Learning

Felicia Dean

Best Presentation: Scholarship of Design and Research

Chunyao Liu

Best Presentation: Scholarship of Design Practice

Amanda Gale

Best Poster

Anna Bazhaw Hyscher

Creative Scholarship Awards

Best CS: Design as Art

Cory Olsen, University of Oregon & Linda Zimmer, University of Oregon
Mass Timber, Small Format. Squall Stool Prototype

Best CS: Design as Idea

Hannah Dewhirst, University of Kentucky
Handcraft as Instructional Methodology for Fabricating Large-Scale Textiles


Every year, IDEC recognizes exceptional contributions to interior design education with awards like the Arnold Friedmann Distinguished Educator Award, Teaching Excellence Award, Community Service Award, Book and Media Award, and Partner in Education Award, alongside other Annual Awards.

Thank you to IDEC Sponsors and Partners