2021 Award Winners

Service Awards

Community Service Award

Joan Riggs, Chaminade University

Presidential Service Award

Taneshia West-Albert, Auburn University

Roberto Ventura, Virginia Commonwealth University

Laura Cole, University of Missouri

Partners in Education Award

Donghia Foundation

Education Awards

Teaching excellence award

Lindsey Ellsworth-Bahe, University of Nebraska – ‎Lincoln

Scholarship Awards

Scholarship Excellence award

Laura Cole, University of Missouri – ‎Columbia

Book Award

Olivier Vallerand, Arizona State University,
Unplanned Visitors: Queering ‎the Ethics and Aesthetics of ‎Domestic Space

Media Award

Johannes Knoops, Fashion Institute of Technology,
In Search of Aldus Pius ‎Manutius

Annual Conference Awards

Scholastic Awards

Best Presentation: Scholarship of Teaching and Learning

Marlo Ransdell and Chasen Bloch
Long Distance Relationship: The Virtual Studio and the Remote Maker Space

Best Presentation: Scholarship of Design and Research

Leah Scolere and Laura Malinin
Virtual Interdisciplinary Collaboration: The Process of Creating an AR Application for Interior Design Experiences

Best Presentation: Members Choice

Tina Patel
Segregation, Gentrification, and Community Renewal: The Interior Design Studio as an Agent of Social Change-A Case Study

Creative Scholarship
Rana Abudayyeh

Living Wall: Advancing the Role of Plants in the Interior Volume

Grad Student Research Award

Adrian Del Monte and Margaret Portillo, University of Florida

Best Poster

Corrie Ostrander and Steven Webber
Interior Design in State Mental Health Facilities: How Interior Design Elements Can Impact Patient Wellbeing

Creative Scholarship Awards

Best CS: Design as Art

Cory Olsen, University of Oregon & Linda Zimmer, University of Oregon
Mass Timber, Small Format. Squall Stool Prototype

Best CS: Design as Idea

Cameron John
Interior Speculation in Residence: Eden, Exodus, and Residual Traces


Every year, IDEC recognizes exceptional contributions to interior design education with awards like the Arnold Friedmann Distinguished Educator Award, Teaching Excellence Award, Community Service Award, Book and Media Award, and Partner in Education Award, alongside other Annual Awards.

Thank you to IDEC Sponsors and Partners