2019 Award Winners

Service Awards

Community Service Award

Suk-Kyung Kim and Linda Nubani, California College of Arts
For their work on behalf of The Mission Neighborhood Resource Center

Presidential Service Award

Susan Ray-Degges, North Dakota State University – IDEC President-Elect

Education Awards

Arnold P. Friedmann Educator of Distinction Award

Lisa Waxman, Ph.D., FIDEC, ASID, LEED-AP ID+C, Professor & Chair, Department of Interior Architecture & Design, Florida State University

Teaching excellence award

Milagros Zingoni, Arizona State University

Scholarship Awards

Book Award

Deborah Schneiderman and Amy Campos,
Interiors Beyond Architecture

Media Award

Stephanie Zollinger,
The Jack Lenor Larsen Oral History Project

Annual Conference Awards

Scholastic Awards

Best Presentation: Scholarship of Teaching and Learning

Jill Pable, Florida State University
Developing an Effective Statement of Philosophy Slowly, Carefully and Authentically

Best Presentation: Scholarship of Design and Research

Laura Cole & Georgia Lindsay
The Green Museum as a Teaching Tool for Sustainability: Design Strategies to Engage the Public in Green Building Education

Best Poster

Melissa Brown
Interior Design Elements in the Treatment of Patients Experiencing Psychosis from Schizophrenia


Every year, IDEC recognizes exceptional contributions to interior design education with awards like the Arnold Friedmann Distinguished Educator Award, Teaching Excellence Award, Community Service Award, Book and Media Award, and Partner in Education Award, alongside other Annual Awards.

Thank you to IDEC Sponsors and Partners