2017 Award Winners

Service Awards

Community Service Award

Abimbola ‘Aby’ Asojo, University of Minnesota,
Calming Space Project at Bruce Vento Elementary School in St. Paul, MN

Presidential Service Award

Kathy Ankerson

Education Awards

Teaching excellence award

Miranda S. Anderson & Jay Pengilly, University of Idaho

Scholarship Awards

Scholarship Excellence Award

Pati Debajyoti
Identifying and Examining Micro Physical Environment Factors Contributing to Patient Falls

Book Award

Philomena Bluyssen, Delft University of Technology,
The Healthy Indoor Environment: How to Assess Occupants’ Wellbeing in Buildings

Media Award

Jessica Senne and Jonathan Fahnestock,
A Conversation with Architect Ralph Fournier

Annual Conference Awards

Scholastic Awards

Best Presentation: Scholarship of Teaching and Learning

 Nathan Bicak, Radford University
Using an Unmanned Aerial Vehicle (UAV/drone) to Improve Student Engagement with Building Construction, Systems, and Codes

Best Presentation: Scholarship of Design and Research

Rebekah Ison Radtke, University of Kentucky
Evaluating Living and Learning on Campus: Beyond Twin Beds and Communal Showers

Grad Student Research Award

Elizabeth Calienes, University of Florida

Best Poster

Jessica Walton
Design Thinking: Providing Opportunity for Underserved Communities with the Design Discipline


Every year, IDEC recognizes exceptional contributions to interior design education with awards like the Arnold Friedmann Distinguished Educator Award, Teaching Excellence Award, Community Service Award, Book and Media Award, and Partner in Education Award, alongside other Annual Awards.

Thank you to IDEC Sponsors and Partners