2015 Award Winners

Education Awards

Arnold P. Friedmann Educator of Distinction Award

Denise Guerin, Ph.D., Professor Emeritus, College of Design, University of Minnesota

Teaching excellence award

Jain Kwon, Ph.D., The University of Georgia

Institutional Innovation Award

University of Florida

Scholarship Awards

Book Award

Deborah Schneiderman, Pratt Institute
Inside Prefab: The Ready-Made Interior

Annual Conference Awards

Scholastic Awards

Best Presentation: Scholarship of Teaching and Learning

Roberto Ventura, Virginia Commonwealth University & Susie Tibbitts, Utah State University
Graphic Language in the Classroom: Integrating Graphic Design with Interior Design Studio and Graphics Coursework

Best Presentation: Scholarship of Design and Research

Erin Schambureck, Texas Tech University
Design for Sight: Typologies Inhibiting Low Vision Access to Interior Spaces

Grad Student Research Award

Michelle Pinson, Texas Tech University

Best Poster

Ryadi Adityavarman, Kansas State University
Teaching Freehand Analytical Drawing: Strategy and Pedagogy based on Polanyian Philosophy of Knowledge for Millennia Design Students


Every year, IDEC recognizes exceptional contributions to interior design education with awards like the Arnold Friedmann Distinguished Educator Award, Teaching Excellence Award, Community Service Award, Book and Media Award, and Partner in Education Award, alongside other Annual Awards.

Thank you to IDEC Sponsors and Partners