2012 Award Winners

Service Awards

Community Service Award

Hannah Mendoza, Assistant Professor, University of North Carolina Greensboro
Leading a global studio that has designed a school for a village in Ghana

Partners in Education Award

Jeffrey Kenney, Executive Director, NCIDQ

Education Awards

Arnold P. Friedmann Educator of Distinction Award

Dorothy Fowles, Ph.D., FIDEC, FASID, FIIDA, CID/IA, Professor Emeritus, College of Design, Department of Art and Design, Iowa State University

Teaching excellence award

Candy Carmel-Gilfilen, University of Florida


Every year, IDEC recognizes exceptional contributions to interior design education with awards like the Arnold Friedmann Distinguished Educator Award, Teaching Excellence Award, Community Service Award, Book and Media Award, and Partner in Education Award, alongside other Annual Awards.

Thank you to IDEC Sponsors and Partners