The Presidential Award honors meritorious service by an IDEC member or non-member to the Interior Design Educators Council or interior design education. It is intended to recognize sustained and notable contributions over and above that expected by virtue of appointment or relationship to IDEC.


This award is given at the discretion of the acting President in consultation with the Executive Board.

Recent Award Recipients


  • Terry Londy, Florida State University


  • Bryan Orthel, Indiana University at Bloomington
  • Seyeon Lee, Syracuse University
  • Suk-Kyung Kim, Yonsei University


  • Taneshia West-Albert, Auburn University
  • Roberto Ventura, Virginia Commonwealth University
  • Laura Cole, University of Missouri


  • Ann Ragan, Lecturer – North Dakota State University
  • Ellen Fisher, New York School of Interior Design – IDEC President-Elect
  • Rene King, Columbia College – IDEC Secretary/Treasurer
  • Joan Dickinson, Radford University – IDEC Director (Scholarship)
  • Stephanie Sickler, Florida State University – IDEC Director (Service)
  • Marsha Cuddeback, Louisiana State University – IDEC Director (Teaching)
  • Sally Ann Swearingen, Stephen F. Austin University – IDEC Director (Regions)
  • Kirsten Lew – IDEC Associate Account Executive


  • Susan Ray-Degges, North Dakota State University – IDEC President-Elect


  • Stephanie Sickler, Visiting Assisting Professor, Florida State University
  • Hepi Wachter, University of Oklahoma – IDEC President-Elect
  • Migette Kaup, Kansas State University – IDEC Past President
  • Cindy Martimo, Sperides Reiners Architect – IDEC Secretary/Treasurer
  • Jennifer Webb, University of Arkansas – IDEC Director (Scholarship)
  • Amy Campos, California College of the Arts – IDEC Director (Service)
  • Marsha Cuddeback, Louisiana State University – IDEC Director (Teaching)
  • Suining Ding, Indiana University Purdue University Fort Wayne – IDEC Director (Regions)


  • Cynthia Mohr


  • Kathy Ankerson