Teaching Excellence Award


The Teaching Excellence Award recognizes an individual or group’s success in the development and delivery of a specific educational experience that yields exceptional student learning. Any IDEC member in good standing can make a nomination for the IDEC Teaching Excellence Award. Individuals may not self-nominate.

Nominations are due Friday, November 3, 2023.


  • IDEC member in good standing
  • IDEC member for at least two years
  • The educational experience must be associated with an established interior design program within higher education.
  • If a team is being nominated, one team member must meet the above qualifications and have made significant contributions to the development and delivery of the educational experience.


  • Articulation of the purpose, methods, and outcomes of the experience
  • Relevance of experience to interior design
  • Effective method/technique that yields exceptional student learning outcome(s)
  • Specific teaching excellence documented by development and repetition of a teaching effort such as a project, assignment, exercise, field trip, evaluations etc.

Submission Requirements

Each nomination shall contain the following information:

Nomination Letter: The nominator must submit a nomination letter (not to exceed 750 words) that describes and addresses the above criteria.

Narrative (from Nominee):  The nominee must submit a narrative (not to exceed 750 words) that clearly articulates the purpose, methods, and outcomes of the educational experience.

Letter of reference: Submit one letter of reference. Nominators are not eligible to serve as the reference.

Supporting Documentation: The nominee may provide up to 10 pages of supporting documentation that could include syllabi, handouts, examples of student work, student evaluations, etc.

Nominee CV(s)

All submission documents should be uploaded as a single PDF file.


A jury of selected participants knowledgeable in the area of submission and previous awardees will review all nominations and evaluate based on a common rubric. Award winners will be publicly celebrated at the annual conference and will be announced to the full international IDEC community.

Service Commitment to Continued Excellence

Please note awardees will be asked to maintain a service commitment to this award for two years following the award acceptance. This service ensures sustained knowledge and excellence in the review process. Willingness to participate will be requested prior to the subsequent year’s awards review.

Past Recipients

2023 – Kendra L. Ordia, University of Nebraska – ‎Lincoln

2022 – Rana Abudayyeh, University of Tennessee, Knoxville

2021 – Lindsey Ellsworth-Bahe, University of Nebraska – ‎Lincoln

2020 – Nerea Feliz, University of Texas at Austin

2019 – Milagros Zingoni, Arizona State University

2018 – Lindsey Fay and The University of Kentucky School of Interiors, University of Kentucky School of Interiors

2017 – Patrick Lee Lucas, Lindsey Fay, Christina Birkentall, Rebekah Radtke, University of Kentucky School of Interiors

2016 – Miranda S. Anderson & Jay Pengilly, University of Idaho

2015 – Jain Kwon, Ph.D., The University of Georgia

2014 – Sandra Reicis, Villa Maria College

2013 – Candy Carmel-Gilfilen, University of Florida

2012 – Judy Theodorson, Washington State University

2011 – Abimbola Asojo, University of Oklahoma

"*" indicates required fields

The submission deadline is December 1, 2023.

Accepted file types: pdf, Max. file size: 256 MB.
This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Thank you to IDEC Sponsors and Partners