Presidential Award


The Presidential Award honors meritorious service by an IDEC member or non-member to the Interior Design Educators Council or interior design education. It is intended to recognize sustained and notable contributions over and above that expected by virtue of appointment or relationship to IDEC.


This award is given at the discretion of the acting President in consultation with the Executive Board.

Service Commitment to Continued Excellence

Please note awardees will be asked to maintain a service commitment to this award for two years following the award acceptance. This service ensures sustained knowledge and excellence in the review process. Willingness to participate will be requested prior to the subsequent year’s awards review.

Thank you for providing your volunteer efforts to IDEC and interior design education, scholarship, and service!

Past Recipients


  • Terry Londy, Florida State University


  • Bryan Orthel, Indiana University at Bloomington
  • Seyeon Lee, Syracuse University
  • Suk-Kyung Kim, Yonsei University


  • Taneshia West-Albert, Auburn University
  • Roberto Ventura, Virginia Commonwealth University
  • Laura Cole, University of Missouri


  • Ann Ragan, Lecturer – North Dakota State University
  • Ellen Fisher, New York School of Interior Design – IDEC President-Elect
  • Rene King, Columbia College – IDEC Secretary/Treasurer
  • Joan Dickinson, Radford University – IDEC Director (Scholarship)
  • Stephanie Sickler, Florida State University – IDEC Director (Service)
  • Marsha Cuddeback, Louisiana State University – IDEC Director (Teaching)
  • Sally Ann Swearingen, Stephen F. Austin University – IDEC Director (Regions)
  • Kirsten LewIDEC Associate Account Executive


  • Susan Ray-Degges, North Dakota State University – IDEC President-Elect

Thank you to IDEC Sponsors and Partners