Community Service Award


The IDEC Community Service Award recognizes and honors significant contribution of community service by an individual or group at a national, regional, and/or local level associated with the discipline of interior design. Service can include a variety of activities including but not limited to: making a difference to a community or special needs group, service-learning projects that build the awareness and value of interior design, efforts in the advancement and dedication to the promotion of IDEC, effort in the advancement of interior design education or design scholarship, or an activity demonstrating significant community engagement. Any IDEC member in good standing can nominate an individual or group for the IDEC Community Service Award.

Nominations are due December 1, 2023.


  • Must be an IDEC member to be eligible for this award.
  • Nominees can be from any part of the world.
  • Candidates can self-nominate.

Submission Requirements

Each nomination shall contain the following information:

Nomination Letter: The nominator must submit a nomination letter (not to exceed 500 words) that describes the community service and addresses the significance, contributions to the community, impact of contributions on the community, and description as to how the service impacts public perception of interior design.

Letter of reference: Submit one letter of reference. Nominators are not eligible to serve as the reference.

Supporting Documentation: The nominee may provide up to 5 pages of supporting documentation (e.g., publications, press, photographic evidence, project information etc.) of the community service activity.

Nominee CV(s)

All submission documents should be uploaded as a single PDF file.


A jury of selected participants knowledgeable in the area of submission and previous awardees will review all nominations and evaluate based on a common rubric. Award winners will be publicly celebrated at the annual conference and will be announced to the full international IDEC community.

Service Commitment to Continued Excellence

Please note awardees will be asked to maintain a service commitment to this award for two years following the award acceptance. This service ensures sustained knowledge and excellence in the review process. Willingness to participate will be requested prior to the subsequent year’s awards review.

Thank you for providing your volunteer efforts to IDEC and interior design education, scholarship, and service!

Past Recipients

  • 2023 – Vibhavari Jani, Kansas State University
  • 2022 – Stephanie McGoldrick, University of Massachusetts Dartmouth
  • 2021 Joan RiggsChaminade University
  • 2020Travis Hicks,University of North Carolina at Greensboro, Center for Community-Engaged Design
  • 2019 Suk-Kyung Kim and Linda NubaniCalifornia College of Arts, for their work on behalf of The Mission Neighborhood Resource Center
  • 2017 Dr. Dak Kopec,Boston Architectural College, for his work on behalf of Bay Cove Human Services
  • 2016 Abimbola ‘Aby’ AsojoUniversity of Minnesota, Calming Space Project at Bruce Vento Elementary School in St. Paul, MN
  • 2014Lorella Di Cintio PhD, Ryerson University
  • 2013Amy Campos, California College of the Arts, Dolores Shelter Program and Community Food Bank Project
  • 2012Hannah Mendoza,Assistant Professor, University of North Carolina Greensboro, Leading a global studio that has designed a school for a village in Ghana
  • 2011Janetta McCoy,Washington State University, Study of rural towns’ economic crises with design options for revitalization

"*" indicates required fields

The submission deadline is December 1, 2023.

Accepted file types: pdf, Max. file size: 256 MB.
This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Thank you to IDEC Sponsors and Partners