You Are Here

You are here, wherever that “here” may be. “Here” simultaneously refers to a place in time and to a place in space. ‎Perhaps the here where you find yourself is not what you imagined in “the before world” when we tricked ourselves ‎into believing we could “plan”. The place where we now find ourselves just “is”. It is where we are, the point from ‎which we take our next steps. ‎

Consider this an invitation to reflect upon where you are in time and space and what is meaningful to you in your ‎work. The making of meaning is highly personal even when it takes its form in professional work, academic or ‎otherwise. This season, IDEC offers a safe space and open arms to authentic sharing of scholarship, creative activity, ‎teaching, and discussions. Whatever it is that you bring to this table, we look forward to hearing about it. We will meet ‎you wherever you are.‎

Symposium Dates

Friday, October 1 and Friday, October 15

Symposium Fees (includes both days)

Member: $95
Non-Member: $245

Schedule of Presentations

Unless otherwise noted, all times listed below are in Eastern Time. The Symposium will begin at 10:45 am ET/9:45 am CT/8:45 am MT/7:45 am PT.

Friday, October 1

10:45 am ET
(9:45 am CT)
Welcome
11:00 am – 12:20 pm ET
(10:00 am – 11:20am CT)
Presentation Group 1 and Q&A

Timing to elsewhere postponed: A case study of coincidental inhabitance during construction and COVID-19
Kelley Robinson, Florida State University

Anticipated Satisfaction of Technologies in the Homes & Lives of Older Adults to Prolong Independence
Connie Dyer, Illinois State University
Emily Whelan, Illinois State University
Keri Edwards, Illinois State University
Elke Altenburger, Illinois State University
Gabriela Fonseca Pereira, Illinois State University
Brenda Johnson, Illinois State University

Senior Co-Housing Dementia Care Facility; A Qualitative Study
Carly Aldridge, Chamberlin Architects
Connie Dyer, Illinois State University
Gabriela Fonseca, Illinois State University

12:30 pm – 1:30 pm ET
(11:30 am – 12:30pm CT)
Panel

Restroom Design and Gender Discrimination
Dr. Solmaz Kive, University of Oregon
Jenna Wheeler, University of Oregon
Savannah Sinowitz, University of Oregon
Cassidy Cole, University of Oregon
Jude Marriotto, University of Oregon

1:45 pm – 2:30 pm ET
(12:45 pm – 1:30pm CT)
Keynote Presentation

Alfred [Alf] Byun
Design Director of Strategy Lab, Gensler Boston

2:45 pm – 4:05 pm ET
(1:45 pm – 3:05pm CT)
Presentation Group 2 and Q&A

Flipped Learning, Scaffolding, and Layering: Enhancing ‎Learning Outcomes in Interior Design Technology Courses.
Judy Ruvuna, University of the Incarnate Word
Diana Allison, University of the Incarnate Word
Adam Nash, University of the Incarnate Word

In the spirit of the now and since COVID-19_Improving the ‎Environmental Preference Index validity and reliability
Dr. Natalie Ellis, University of North Texas

Building Empathy for Youth-At-Risk: The Interior Design ‎Studio as Tool for Facilitating Change in Community
Tina Patel, Kent State University
Stacie Burtelson, Kent State University

2:45 pm – 4:05 pm ET
(1:45 pm – 3:05pm CT)
Presentation Group 3 and Q&A

The Modern Faculty Office ‎
Roxann O’Rourke, Park University

Feminist Educational Practices in/post Pandemic Design ‎Classroom
Amy Bagshaw, Yorkville University, Georgian College

Understanding Changes in Student Housing Needs ‎According to COVID-19: A Case Study of Expanded Studio ‎and Classroom
Dr. Jinoh Park, University of Arkansas, Fayetteville
Briahna Aderman, University of Tennessee, Knoxville
Andrew Keys, University of Tennessee, Knoxville
Brooklyn Poff, University of Tennessee, Knoxville
Camryn Weekly, University of Tennessee, Knoxville

4:15 pm – 5:30 pm ET
(3:45 pm – 4:30pm CT)
Presentation Group 4 and Q&A

Place experience in online design education: Exploring the ‎literature
Dr. Bryan Orthel, Indiana University
Dana Vaux, University of Nebraska at Kearney

Emotional Engagement Improves Foundation Studio Design ‎Outcomes
Jessica Bonness, Marymount University
Salvatore Pirrone, Marymount University

Constructing 3D experiences, a narrative of four installations
José Bernardi, Arizona State University

Friday, October 15

10:45 am ET
(9:45 am CT)
Welcome
11:00 am – 12:40 pm ET
(10:00 am – 11:40am CT)
Presentation Group 1 and Q&A

A Naturalized Approach to the Design of Pediatric Healing ‎Environments
Dr. Kristi Gaines, Texas Tech University
Kalie Brettmann, Texas Tech University

A Systematic Review of Research on Environmental Color ‎and Culture
Dr. Jin Gyu “Phillip” Park, University of North Texas‎

Mind the Design: Contemplative and Mindful Approaches ‎to Interior Environments‎
Kurt Espersen-Peters, University of Manitoba
Pallavi Swaranjali, Algonquin College

Pivoting: Interior Design for Those Who Need It Most
Dr. Carol Bentel, School of Visual Arts

12:45 pm – 1:30 pm ET
(11:45 am – 12:30 pm CT)
Creative Presentations and Q&A

A site-specific sound sculpture: Anchoring the sonic ‎experience‎
Stephen Skorski, University of North Carolina – Greensboro
Steven Landis, University of North Carolina – Greensboro

Worn Embrace: A Catalog of Objects
Andrea Sosa Fontaine, Kent State University

1:45 pm – 2:45 pm ET
(12:45 pm – 1:45 pm CT)
Panel

Service Through Design / Design Through Service
Amy Roehl, Texas Christian University
Maya Bird Murphy, Chicago Mobile Makers
Jesse Herrera, CoAct
Ashley Sharp, Dwell with Dignity

2:50 pm – 4:10 pm ET
(1:50 pm – 3:10 pm CT)
Presentation Group 2 and Q&A

Furniture: Factors Affecting Women’s Dignity; Dignity in Domestic Violence Shelters
Sarah Rifqi, Florida State University
Jill Pable, Florida State University

An Interdisciplinary Approach to a Community Kitchen ‎Project for a College Campus
Kristin King, California State University, Northridge

Reflections on Race and Classism in the Design Classroom
Cotter Christian, Parsons School of Design, The New School
Randall Jones, Yabu Pushelberg

2:50 pm – 4:10 pm ET
(1:50 pm – 3:10 pm CT
Presentation Group 3 and Q&A

Mentorship: When here is there
Kelley Robinson, Florida State University
Amy Huber, Florida State University

The Butterfly Effect: Small Product Design Projects Provide ‎Opportunities to Educate Consumers in a Big Way
Amy Jacobson-Peters, University of Central Oklahoma

Outeriors: Investigating a pandemic-induced blur between ‎interiority and exteriority
Amy Roehl, Texas Christian University

4:30 pm – 5:30 pm ET
(3:30 pm – 4:30 pm CT
Panel

Anatomy of the Syllabus: Dismantling Power in Teaching Interiors
Yu Nong Khew, Parsons School of Design, The New School
Cotter Christian, Parsons School of Design, The New School
Michele Gorman, Parsons School of Design, The New School
Sam Bennett, Parsons School of Design, The New School
Ari Elefterin, Parsons School of Design, The New School