The Excellence in Scholarship Award recognizes an individual’s or team’s distinguished achievement in the area of scholarship as it relates to the interior environment and its contribution to the discipline of interior design. Any IDEC member in good standing can make a nomination for this award. Individuals may not self-nominate.


  • IDEC member in good standing in any category of membership
  • IDEC member for at least two years
  • If a collaborative achievement is being nominated, one member of the collaboration must meet the above qualifications and have made significant contributions to the product of the scholarship.

Submission Requirements

Each nomination shall contain the following information:

  • Nomination Letter (from Nominator): The nominator must submit a nomination letter (not to exceed 750 words) that addresses the above criteria.
  • Supporting Documentation: The nominee may provide up to 10 pages of supporting documentation that may include a description of the scholarship/research, its outcomes, contributions to the field, testimonials from those affected by the work, visual images, etc.
  • Submit the names of three references. Please note that only references from the top 3 finalists will be contacted to submit letters of support.
  • All submission documents should be uploaded as a single PDF file.

Nominations are due by Friday, October 21, 2022 October 28, 2022. Click here to submit your nomination.


The Awards Committee (made up of selected participants and previous awardees knowledgeable in the area of submission) will review all submissions and present their final award nominees to the IDEC Board of Directors for approval and ratification. Award winners will be publicly celebrated at the annual conference and will be announced to the full international IDEC community.

Service Commitment to Continued Excellence

Please note Awardee(s) will be asked to maintain a one year service commitment in honor of being selected as an Award recipient. During the year following the Award acceptance, Awardees will be asked to serve as a Reviewer for the Awards Committee and thus must abstain from submitting for the Community Service, Partner in Education, Teaching Excellence, Scholarship Excellence, Book, or Media Awards during that year. This service ensures sustained knowledge and excellence in the review process. Willingness to participate will be requested prior to the subsequent year’s awards review period.

Past Recipients

  • 2022 – Lindsey Fay, University of Kentucky
  • 2021 – Laura Cole, University of Missouri – ‎Columbia
  • 2020 –  Michelle Pearson, Texas Tech University, for her work on behalf of The Early Childhood Development Center in Malawi.
  • 2016 – Pati Debajyoti – Identifying and Examining Micro Physical Environment Factors Contributing to Patient Falls